The 2018 Whiting Award Winners


covercovercovercovercovercovercoverThe ten winners of the 2018 Whiting Awards were announced tonight in a ceremony featuring a keynote by Nobel Prize laureate Toni Morrison. Based on “early accomplishment and the promise of great work to come,” the annual Whiting Award gives $50,000 to ten emerging writers in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and drama. This year’s recipients are:

Patty Yumi Cottrell, debut author of Sorry to Disrupt the Peace (Read The Millions interview with Cottrell);
Brontez Purnell, author of Since I Laid My Burden Down
Weike Wang
, debut author of Chemistry

Esmé Weijun Wang
, author of the forthcoming The Collected Schizophrenias (Wang’s a Year in Reading alum)

Anne Boyer, author of Garments Against Women

Rickey Laurentiis, author of Boy with Thorn (Laurentiis’s work was featured in our literary Lent reader)
Tommy Pico, author of IRL (our review of Pico’s book-length poem)

Nathan Alan Davis, playwright of Nat Turner in Jerusalem
Hansol Jung, playwright of  Cardboard Piano
Antoinette Nwandu, playwright of Pass Over

googletag.cmd.push(function() { googletag.display(‘Desktop_Leaderboard_3’); });

googletag.cmd.push(function() { googletag.display(‘Mobile_MedRec_3’); });

The post The 2018 Whiting Award Winners appeared first on The Millions.

The 2018 Whiting Award Winners

Download Now Read Online

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *